Baynesfield Estate

Baynesfield Estate offers accommodation to guests wanting to getaway to a relaxed pace of living. The garden is also a lovely venue for picnics, weddings and other functions. The Baynesfield Estate Lodge is set overlooking a beautiful dam and the views are spectacular. The lodge is a wonderful weekend or holiday destination. The Garden Cottage is set amoungst the beautiful established heritage garden and offers peace and quiet for guests wanting a tranquil weekend away. Camping is also offered at the Big Dam.

Our guests can enjoy the use of all the amenities including the dam for fishing, the farm for walking trails or mountain biking and the garden for strolling.

The Heritage Centre consists of the Baynesfield Estate Museums, Baynes House, the Heritage Garden, the Natal Vintage Tractor and Machinery Club and the Woodcrafters. The Baynesfield Estate Heritage Centre holds four Country Fairs every year as part of a fundraising and marketing effort. The Country Fairs are a fundraising effort for the Baynesfield Estate Heritage Centre, The Natal Vintage Tractor and Machinery Club and the Woodcrafters.

Baynesfield Estate | +27(0)33 251 0041

We welcome visitors and would recommend a tour of the Museums. There is a diary museum, a kitchen museum, and a sewing museum. The main victorian homestead is well worth a visit and house tours are conducted on an appointment basis. The Natal Vintage Tractor and Machinery club have set up their home in the Baynesfield garden and they have a wonderful selection of very interesting tractors, machines, even a steam roller! The Museum Tour involves an interesting historical house tour, a butter making demonstration and a tour of the Natal Vintage Tractor and Machinery Club.

GPS Coordinates: 29°45'54.4392"S | 30°20'29.358"E


Eastern Cape: Middelburg Karoo, Cradock, Schoombee, Hofmeyr, Venterstad, Steynsburg, Burgersdorp, Molteno, Aliwal North, Queenstown, Lady Grey, Dordrecht, Indwe, Elliot, Barkly East, Rhodes, Ugie, Maclear, Mount Fletcher, Matatiele, Cedarville.
KwaZulu-Natal: Swartberg, Kokstad, Harding, Umzimkulu, Ixopo, Bulwer, Richmond, Baynesfield, Camperdown, Pietermaritzburg.