Lady Grey

Lady Grey is a delightful little Victorian style village in which you'll want to linger longer. The town was named after Lady Eliza Spencer - wife of the Cape Governor Sir George Grey, when it was founded in 1856, and a walk through the old cemetery is a must to trace its interesting history.

Surrounded by the beautiful snow-capped Eastern Cape Witteberg Mountain Range close to the Karringmelkspruit River gorge, this quaint little town is in close proximity to both mountains and water, making Lady Grey famous for its beautiful scenery. The area is rich in sandstone, fossil beds and San rock art and the Lady Grey Dam, built in 1925, serves as a great place for swims - there’s a rock pool below the dam - and picnics. A natural staircase allows you to scale the wall of the dam.

Lady Grey

Just outside Lady Grey is Joubert's Pass, the fourth highest pass in South Africa, which provides a scenic drive up to a reservoir in the centre of a nature reserve, where bird watching is reputed to be the best in the area. For the outdoor enthusiast the rugged terrain around Lady Grey provides a number of hikes, mountain bike and 4x4 trails.

How to get there

Follow the R56 from Middelburg through to Steynsburg, then take the R58 up to Aliwal North and on to Lady Grey, (Odometer 268km).
Or via the R56 through to Molteno, then turn off onto the N6 and take the R344 up to Lady Grey, (Odometer 288km).
Follow the R56 from Pietermaritzburg through to Elliot then take the R58 to Lady Grey, (Odometer 589km).

Getting Around

Self-drive would be best.

Where to Stay

There are various Lodges, Guest Houses, B&Bs, Caravaning and camping sites in and around town. Try out Lupela Lodge, Mountain View Country Inn, Comfrey Cottage (B&B Collection), Snowdon Guesthouse, Blue Pepper Guest House and Karnmelkspruit River Resort.

Where to Eat

Lady Eliza’s Restaurant, Sarah Bella Coffee Shoppe, Ye Olde Praktijkt restaurant and coffee shop. Let’s not to forget the local favourite, the Sportsmans Arms Pub.


Eastern Cape: Middelburg Karoo, Cradock, Schoombee, Hofmeyr, Venterstad, Steynsburg, Burgersdorp, Molteno, Aliwal North, Queenstown, Lady Grey, Dordrecht, Indwe, Elliot, Barkly East, Rhodes, Ugie, Maclear, Mount Fletcher, Matatiele, Cedarville.
KwaZulu-Natal: Swartberg, Kokstad, Harding, Umzimkulu, Ixopo, Bulwer, Richmond, Baynesfield, Camperdown, Pietermaritzburg.