Venterstad is 73 km north of Steynsburg and 65km west of Burgersdorp. Venterstad began life back in the mid-1860s as a farmer’s town, with its tuishuise (town houses), shops and church buildings. It was quiet until the Gariep Dam was built and today, is a great tourism destination filled with numerous eco-adventure attractions in the area. The town lies just south west of the famous Oviston Nature Reserve, a 13,000 hectare reserve that runs alongside the country’s largest dam, the Gariep Dam. The nearby Orange-Fish River Tunnel is the longest irrigation tunnel in the world.

The Oviston Nature Reserve has more than 48 animal species, and nearly 150 bird species have been identified in the area. There are over 50kms of game viewing roads with a guided overnight wilderness trail. There are excellent recreational activities to be found close to Venterstad.


The Geriep Dam is a magnet to water sports and fishing enthusiasts alike. Activities in the area include, bird watching, hiking and mountain bike riding. If you are wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of city life, experience clear blue skies, and breathe in clean country air, then take time out and enjoy the peace and quiet of the area with true Karoo hospitality.

How to get there

Follow the R56 from Middelburg through to Styenysburg, then via the R390 up to Venterstad, (Odometer 160km).
Or take the R56 and R58 through to Venterstad, (Odometer 138km).
Follow the R56 from Pietermaritzburg through to Molteno, then turn right onto the R391 up to Burgersdorp, then the R58 through to Venterstad, (Odometer 752km).

Getting Around

Self-drive would be best.

Where to Stay

There is a variety of Guest Houses, B&Bs, and farm stays in the area such as Morning Glory Cottages or the Oviston Sunrise Lodge (formally Karoo Sunsets Motel).


Eastern Cape: Middelburg Karoo, Cradock, Schoombee, Hofmeyr, Venterstad, Steynsburg, Burgersdorp, Molteno, Aliwal North, Queenstown, Lady Grey, Dordrecht, Indwe, Elliot, Barkly East, Rhodes, Ugie, Maclear, Mount Fletcher, Matatiele, Cedarville.
KwaZulu-Natal: Swartberg, Kokstad, Harding, Umzimkulu, Ixopo, Bulwer, Richmond, Baynesfield, Camperdown, Pietermaritzburg.